DA-10 honors AEWs and an LFT in R-10 in the 2019 RAA for their food sufficiency contributions. On December 17, DA-10 RED Collado handed over the cash prizes to the honorees, including Provincial Agriculturist, Bukidnon Engr. Alson G. Quimba and Valencia City Agriculturist Connie L. Dalangan, in the presence of Rice Program Focal Person, Chona H. Nacalaban, POC Bukidnon Chief, Dr. Janet D. Lopez and Agriculturist II Paulo Miguel A. Diputado. #


CAGAYAN DE ORO – Twenty-three outstanding agricultural extension workers (AEWs) and Local Farmer Technician (LFT) in Northern Mindanao were recognized and honored in the 2019 Rice Achievers Awards for their contributions to food sufficiency thrust on December 17, 2020.

Department of Agriculture – Regional Field Office 10  Regional Executive Director Carlene C. Collado awarded each AEW (22) and LFT (1) with P20,000 cash for their efforts and assistance to the rice sector.

Collado stressed, Region 10 has been consistently awarded in the annual RAA for several years.

The contributions of the 2019 awardees coming from the provinces of Bukidnon (14), Lanao del Norte (7), and Misamis Occidental were instrumental in helping the provinces of Bukidnon and Lanao del Norte and the city of Valencia to be included in the top 10 National outstanding provinces, cities in the 2019 RAA.

Collado further shared,  DA has poured various supports for the rice industry thru the Rice Competitiveness Enhancement Fund (RCEF), aside from the regular programs of the department to scale up its hybrid and inbred rice production in spite of COVID-19 challenges.

“I congratulate all the awardees of the 2019 RAA and I hope that even if this will be the last batch of the annual RAA, you will continue to be our extension arms in DA’s mandate in providing sufficient food not only in the region but also the country.”

He also assured that DA will continue to give support in the agri sector, especially the accredited cooperatives in all commodities which include rice, corn, high-value crops, and livestock in the provinces.

Myrna Ariola,  the region’s only LFT awardee from Don Carlos, Bukidnon said, “Being a farmer technician of the five barangays requires passion and dedication.”

Meanwhile, Bukidnon Provincial Agriculturist Engr. Alson G. Quimba remarked, with DA-RCEF and other agri interventions, Bukidnon has the region’s highest area of rice production will still be inspired to sustain its rice sufficiency, which is currently at 145 percent.

The 2019 RAA AEWs and LFT awardees are as follows:


Local Farmer Technician

  1. Myrna A.Ariola – LFT, Don Carlos

Agricultural Extension Workers

  1. Engr. Alson Quimba – Provincial Local Government Unit
  2. Maria Lilith Turan – PLGU
  3. Connie L. Dalangan – Valencia City
  4. Jemuel Raffy Juanga – Valencia City
  5. Roan R. Fernandez – Impasug-ong
  6. Dianne Jane B. Gante – Impasug-ong
  7. Jaeanylyn D. Balandra – Kibawe
  8. Henry Alimpiping – Malaybalay City
  9. Sherwin E. Blanco – Malaybalay City
  10. Arnulfo L. Edralin – Malaybalay City
  11. Cressencia Taguic – Malaybalay City
  12. Fliridel Tinoy – Malaybalay City
  13. Jan Michael Vicente R. Cruz – Valencia City
  14. Adonis A. Torres – Valencia City



  1. Letecia Ditucalan – PLGU
  2. Mechelle Merambel – PLGU
  3. Dodirico M. Cuaresma – Lala
  4. Oscar Palencia – Lala
  5. Antipas Padilla – Lala
  6. Rosevito Pugoy – Lala
  7. Aldrin Ybañez – Lala


  1. Ermesa Bongabong – Oroquieta CLGU