DA-10 turns over P4.78-million worth of agricultural interventions to MARBFC and BLMC of Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon. 


CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY – The Department of Agriculture – Northern Mindanao (DA-10) headed by Regional Executive Director Carlene C. Collado, grants more than P4.78 million (M) worth of agricultural interventions to two outstanding farm clusters from Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon on December 4, 2023.

This after the Mantibugao Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries Farmers’ Cooperative (MARBFC) and Bliss Lingion Multipurpose Cooperative (BLMC) took home the coveted championship in the Agricultural Training Institute (ATI), in collaboration with DA through its national Corn program’s Corn and Cassava Cluster Management Excellence Awards (CCMEA).

Of which, said awards recognize the laudable feats of cluster organizations in support to the promotion and development of the corn and cassava industries.

Held at the town’s gymnasium during the awarding of its local government’s three-part food- and nutrition-security contests, DA-10 led by Regional Technical Director for Operations Carlota S. Madriaga together with Manolo Fortich mayor Rogelio N. Quiño and Gemma G. Cania, municipal agriculturist, conferred a certificate of award amounting to P4,015,800 to MARBFC for being adjudged as the top corn cluster throughout the country.

With over three decades since its inception, MARBFC has bolstered partnerships with different entities to ensure maximum and sustainable yield among its farmer-members, and a guaranteed market for their harvest at the same time.

The group’s roster of agri assistance includes a hauling truck (P3.25-M), 100 bags of hybrid yellow (NK6410BGT) corn seeds (P600K), and 100 bags of complete inorganic fertilizer (P165,800.00).

On the other hand, BLMC’s growth from only seven to being a 353-membered group primarily engaged in cassava growing and inking marketing agreements, helped them clinch the highest prize for the outstanding cassava cluster across all regions.

Still handed over by DA-10 RTD Madriaga along with town officials, Bliss earned a certificate of award in the amount of P765,800.00 for various agri inputs, comprising 100 bags of hybrid yellow (NK6410BGT) corn seeds (P600K), and 100 bags of complete inorganic fertilizer (P165,800.00).

In her message, RTD Madriaga gave paramount importance to adopting DA’s clustering approach as a key strategy toward modernized and industrialized Philippine agriculture while uplifting the lives of farmers.

“Atong gi-aghat atong mga gagmay’ng mag-uuma nga maghugpong sila aron maka-access sila og dinagko na assistance, diin ang ilang interventions na ilang ma-avail dili lamang limited to seeds, fertilizers or garden tools, apan ma-akip na ang hauling truck, farm tractor, combine harvester ug uban pa.” Dir. Madriaga said.

With the poured assistance serving as government investments to the winning coops, she reminded the awardees saying “ampingan ninyo ang mga butang [agri interventions] aron molahutay siya ug mapuslan dugay sa mga miyembro sa kooperatiba ug aron mahimo kamong modelo sa inyong komunidad ug madasig pa ang ubang grupo sa lungsod nga molambo pod.”

Besides the presentation of the CCMEA honorees before their hometown, Mayor Quiño lauded them for bringing glory to the municipality, including those who have responded to the LGU’s-spearheaded contests such as the 1st Communal Garden, 2nd Gulayan sa Paaralan and 3rd Utanan sa Tugkaran contests, participated in by 45 schools and 22 barangays, for embodying the spirit of cooperativism that contributes to Manolo Fortich’s quest in achieving food and nutrition security.

The local chief executive also commended their efforts as he recognized their integral role in the advancement of the municipality, even encouraging them to sustain their support in the different development programs of the government.
It can also be recalled that in mid-November in Quezon City, DA and ATI formally honored the champion clusters with each receiving P2-M for the purchase of various agri inputs to help them amplify their farming operations, livelihood and income.

Also gracing the activity are other local officials: Committee on Agriculture Chairperson, Councilor Raquel Bayacag and Committee Chairperson on Farmers, Councilor Elzevir A. Dagunlay; Fe Q. Sangco, second placer of the Search for 2023 NorMin Outstanding Rural Women, still from the said municipality; and the Corn program staff from DA-10. # (JLO)