The RCI-TWG of NorMin convenes for the preparation of the upcoming launching of the approved Mt. Balatukan CADP.


CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY – In line with the preparation for the upcoming launching of the approved Mt. Balatukan Cluster Convergence Area Development Plan (CADP), the Regional Convergence Initiative – Technical Working Group (RCI-TWG) of Northern Mindanao convened in Cugman, Cagayan de Oro City.

The approved Mt. Balatukan CADP, which is set to be launched on March 11, 2021 in Lunotan, Gingoog City, will serve as the framework for the attainment of responsible eco-tourism, sustainable agriculture, and balanced eco-system of the Balatukan cluster.

Said activity will be participated by the local governments under the Mt. Balatukan cluster, covering the municipalities of Balingasag, Balingoan, Binuangan, Claveria, Kinoguitan, Lagonglong, Magsaysay, Medina, Salay, Sugbongcogon, Talisayan, and Gingoog City, all from the province of Misamis Oriental.

The Convergence Initiative is a strategy to improve, conserve, protect, and rehabilitate natural resources through the development and implementation of environment-friendly enterprises and livelihood opportunities.

Implementing member-agencies of the RCI, namely: Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), and DA are expected to complement their expertise and resources in the identified areas following the ridge-to-reef approach.

Present during the said meeting are representatives from DA-10 headed by Regional Technical Director for Operations Carlota S. Madriaga, DAR-10 representative Antonietta de la Rita, DILG-10 representative Jacillo Orongan, and DENR-10 representative Christian Jebulan.# (CSeraspe)